On my way

Sometimes you don’t need a lot of material for your work or a special backpack for shooting. Normally, I just carry one or two cameras, the dog, a waste bag, my mobile phone and the key. That’s it. Without the right motif, a first idea (if you’re working on a project or a series) and a suitable place you can’t do anything even if you carry the most expensive equipment.

This photo was taken by my husband (thanks again, you had a lot of fun with that, don’t you?) with his mobile phone during one of my last photo sessions of my last ongoing project. Yes, earlier than expected you hear some first news about the project! Well, I think, sometimes it can be interesting to catch a glimpse to the story behind the scene, even if that means risking to lose the „wow-effect“. That’s how I’m, that’s the plane reality ;-) To make this wonderful photo a bit „special“ I used some filters of Analog Efex Pro. Just for fun. I’m really happy about that nice and funny program.

Going back to the subject, I just feel good about having a line to work with, an idea which I can let work by playing and experimenting. I’m fascinated by concept photography, but I’ve never tried it by myself. I would describe myself as an intuitive photographer who isn’t good at planning… or maybe I am, yet I get a lot more the feeling of fulfillment when I improvise. I have to walk around, see, feel and shoot whenever I find it suitable, but until today I believe something is missing and I can’t express what I want. The pictures are NOT as cooperative as they should be. In this case, having a concept can be very helpful, but on the other side I sense the absence of my muse. Gosh, I really have to stop over-thinking things like these! To find a way out I broadened the boundaries of the concept. I needed some space for thinking and experimenting. Well, after some project meetings and lots of idea-finding processes, I started drawing minimalistic sketches. This was the first step to go on. The image below doesn’t stage my sketch as planed and I still miss something there, but it’s just the beginning of a wonderful and hopefully successful journey!

FotoRottenbauer2

photography © anette siegelwachs, 2014

Hasselblad 500c/m | Kentmere 400

 

Über anette

photo artist & dreamer

15 Kommentare

  1. Anette, I love your creativity. I am very curious to experience more about your new project. I also like to go to work only with a light bag, everything too much makes me feeling unhappy and not free enough to do my things right.
    Good luck!
    Sabine

  2. Viel Spass mit den neuen Projekt XD

  3. I know it will be-a successful journey:)

  4. Nice to see you, Anette! And how exciting about the project.

  5. Your intuition is serving you well and so excited for your project!

  6. Ist es das Projekt, das Du zusammen mit Deiner Schwester angehen wolltest oder ein anderes? Bei dem Bild denke ich irgendwie an eine schon länger vergangene Zeit, der Teddy zurückgelassen, in den Trümmern. vielleicht von Menschen auf der Flucht…
    Das Bild von Dir finde ich auch super und ich musste etwas schmunzeln, als ich Dich mit Deiner Hasselblad sah. Ich hab mir jetzt nämlich auch eine gekauft und dachte so ‚Aha, so gross ist die also in echt‘ :) Mit der alten Lady werde ich wohl auch eher etwas gezielter mit Konzept fotografieren, alles etwas langsamer angehen, aber die ersten Testfilme knipse ich erstmal eher spontan aus dem Moment. Meistens kann man beides auch kombinieren, man beginnt mit einer Idee und lässt sich von den tatsächlichen Gegebenheiten inspirieren. Die Bilder, due wir suchen, sind irgendwo da draußen und warten darauf, entdeckt zu werden :)

    • Genau! Ja, die Hasselblad ist schon ein ganz schöner Brummer, aber es macht ungemein viel Spaß mit ihr zu arbeiten und zwingt einem förmlich das notwendige Innehalten auf, weg von Schnelllebigkeit und Ungeduld! Der Vorgang Doppelbelichtungen zu machen war erst gewöhnungsbedürftig, wie das Prozedere mit Film einlegen und knipsen, aber das hat man schnell raus. Ich bin gespannt, wie es dir mit ihr ergeht, aber ich bin mir sicher, dass tolle Ergebnisse folgen werden :)
      Das Projekt ist das, was ich mit meiner Schwester erarbeite. Es ist noch ein zugegeben sich ständig verändernder Prozess und die Bilder in der Experimentierphase. Spannend, zäh, bremsend und inspirierend. Manchmal alles auf einmal ;)

  7. jetzt bin ich neugierig…sicher wird es interessant…
    robert

    • Ich bin auch sehr gespannt, wie sich das Langzeitprojekt entwickeln wird. Auf jeden Fall gibt es noch einiges zu tun experimentieren ;)
      Danke für dein Feedback, Robert!
      LG, Anette

  8. Da hast ja ordentlich Gepäck zu schleppen :)
    Cooles Foto! Erinnert mich irgendwie an War of the worlds ;)

Kommentar verfassen

